Kampala, 30 November 2013

The 15th Ordinary Summit of the East African Community Heads of State was marked by the signing of the East African Monetary Union Protocol that is set to strengthen economic cooperation through a single currency for all EAC members. During the one day-summit, Presidents of the five EAC members reviewed the progress of the Community and adopted resolutions that aim to ensure implementation of policies in key sectors including infrastructure, development, trade policy and common custom territory.

President Uhuru Kenyatta accepted his nomination for the chairmanship of the East African Community and spoke on behalf of the leaders of the EAC:

“The East African Community is now fully embarked on enormous, ambitious and transformational initiatives. It is time to liberate our people, businesses and capital to allow them to deliver prosperity. That is the true promise of integration.”

Directly addressing the rumors of division within the EAC, President Kenyatta reassured those present of the EAC leaders’ commitment to regional unity:

“We speak with one voice and walk together towards our destination of a better Africa for all.”

Today’s summit which was preceded by ministerial meetings began with private consultations among Heads of States. The EAC Summit communique adopted by the Heads of States reiterated the need for a custom union, improved trade policies and infrastructure projects.